A onetime NCAA golf champion was disqualified from the LPGA’s modifying tournament over the weekend after she dallied a clod her mother gotta go back in bounds.
A homeowner near the Pinehurst, N.C ., golf course caught someone moving Doris Chen’s errant tee shot back in secures and later reported the misdemeanour, Golf Channel reported. The person who moved the missile was subsequently identified as Chen’s mother, Yuh-Guey Lin.
Alex Valer, Chen’s caddie, tried to explain the situation to the Golf Channel.
“It’s a mess, ” he said. “Doris did the mistaken concept. I’m just trying to do the right thing, to be fair to all those actors at Q-Series who have worked so hard for a whole year.”
Chen attempted to distance herself from the quarrel Sunday, calling the incident a “misunderstanding.”
“I did not have any direct participation , nor was it my meaning for it to happen, ” she said in the statement. “It was a stressful week and I did my best in terms of solve it at the moment. Regrettably, I did not have the best judgement[ sic] at the moment and this resulted[ in] a find. It was my responsibility as a musician to call for a rules official at the time to investigate, whether the happening to be true or mistaken.
“However, I thoughts I knew the standard rules clearly. I have to firmly clarify that my caddie, the voluntary nor I at the time we were searching for the bullet realise anything questionable. I did not hear or see anything , nor did I do anything that they are able to interfere. I attained the chunk and stumble it.”
The LPGA secreted a statement, saying Chen frisked the wrong ball.
“Doris Chen’s drive on the 17 th defect in round 7 came to rest out of bounds, ” the LPGA said in the statement, according to ESPN. “An outside organization moved her dance back in bounds. Ms. Chen and her caddie were know that the ball had been moved. Doris elected to play the bullet, which was a inaccurate ball by definition, from its adapted lie. Ms. Chen did not correct her error before teeing off on the next flaw, thus resulting in the DQ penalty.”
Chen, who won an NCAA title with USC in 2014 and a U.S. Girls’ Junior title in 2010, defended herself in an interview with the Golf Channel, saying feels “hurt” over developments in the situation and is not a cheater.